Understanding Search Results

IMPORTANT – Currently, the Claims Website provides information related to undistributed royalties associated with post-2012 Canadian releases that have been paid into the Licensing Trust by Sony Music Entertainment Canada, Universal Music Canada, and Warner Music Canada for the 3Q2013 through 2Q2015 sales period.

In cases where either the label or CSI has identified multiple pending or unclaimed line items that are associated with the same Musical Work, these details have been grouped together into a Pending Usage Group record.  Each Pending Usage Group record corresponds to a single CSI work record, and in cases where CSI has identified the musical work, then details of the matched work will be included.  The main information returned for each Pending Usage Group contains: Title, Composer(s), Distribution number and Track Value along with track and product specific details.

Select Box ( Checkbox )– Allows you to select the Pending Usage Group(s) for which you wish to submit a claim.  This must be selected in order to submit a claim against an item. If you identify that multiple Pending Usage Groups correspond to a single musical work, you can make claims against all of the relevant Pending Usage Groups in a single transaction by selecting multiple check boxes.  Note that the Usage Groups must all be matched to the same musical work in order for your claims to be registered properly.

“Linked To My Work” Icon ( work-matched )– indicates that the Pending Usage Group has been matched to a CSI work. If you wish to submit a claim, the Pending Usage Group must first be matched to a work in CSI’s database.  This can be done using the “Link To My Work” button, which will launch a search page to identify your work in CSI’s database.  The Claim button will become active after the work is linked.

“Claimed” Icon ( work-claimed ) – indicates that you, or someone else registered to submit claims on behalf of your organization, have already made a claim to this Pending Usage Group.

Track Value Each item is categorized as a Low, Medium or a High-Value Item. View “What Does this List Represent?” in the FAQ to see how values are calculated.

Expanded Work Detail ( >>) – Exists where the usage group has been matched to a musical work.  Expanding the detail will provide you with the following information:

  • Total unknown share % for the work
  • Total share(s) of work that you have registered with CSI (via CMRRA or SODRAC)
  • Total share(s) of work controlled by other rightsholders
  • Work In Dispute – If the work has been identified as the subject of a disputed claim, then this field will be set to “Yes”.  As per the terms of the Class Action Settlement, for any releases occurring as of January 2013, the labels will pay royalties for all works identified as disputes into the CSI Licensing Trust.  CSI will review the details related to any payments and, where applicable, release any portion of royalties related to undisputed work shares.  CSI will hold in suspense royalties related to disputed shares until the dispute is resolved.  If you are unaware that the Musical Work in question is in dispute, please contact your representative Agency or Society (CMRRA or SODRAC), or if you are not affiliated with these organizations, contact CSI directly for details regarding the disputed information that we have on file.
  • Details of licences issued for your shares (available in a separate window when triggered) – Licences will reflect one of the following statuses:
    • Issued – Licence has been issued but not yet confirmed by the label
    • Confirmed – Label has confirmed receipt and acceptance of the licence
    • Rejected – Label has rejected the licence and the reason for rejection will appear in the “Status Narrative” field
  • Royalty payment details identifying any quarters where payment has been made to you already for the item in question.  This will assist you in your research to determine if you’ve already received correct payment for your share of the work as contained on the product in question.

Expanded Track Detail ( >>) – Provides additional details of the track and release product. Please note that you may encounter records where certain fields of recording data appear blank. There are two scenarios that may cause this to occur:

  1. When processing the record company royalty files, CSI relies on certain mandatory identifiers to link the royalty data to the complete set of recording details that was captured from the record company’s licence request for that item.  This information is then displayed on the claims website. In the early royalty reporting periods for the Licensing Trust, some of the record company data either contained incorrect identifiers, or these were missing entirely.  This particular issue is prevalent primarily in the 3Q2013 and 4Q2013 files.  As a result, only the information that was supplied directly in the royalty reporting is available, which is most often a product identifier such as a Catalogue Number or UPC.
  2. Where the record company has included a Balance Forward item in their royalty reporting, there is no associated detail supplied.  This is due to the fact that the Balance Forward is supplied in the royalty file alongside of the musical work as a whole, and is not associated with one particular set of release or recording information.  CSI will process these line items in accordance with the remaining line items that are included in the same Pending Usage Group.

The bottom grid in the Expanded Track Detail displays the following important information:

  • Publisher Name will indicate the name of the account to which royalties have been adjusted, followed in brackets by the name of the accrual account provided by the label to CSI.  The Publisher Name will typically reflect a suspense account, except in cases where CSI has researched the item in question and identified the publisher to whom the amount is payable.
  • Share % as indicated by the label or, in the case of adjusted amounts, the adjusted % that remains unclaimed
  • In Dispute (as per Label) will indicate if the label has identified the record in question as associated with a work in dispute
  • Applicable Royalty Rate indicates the rate at which payment has been made, adjusted according to the ownership share percentage

Claim Button (ClaimButton)– In order to submit a claim using the “Claim” button at the bottom of the screen, the Pending Usage Group must be matched to a CSI Work. If we have not successfully matched the record in question, then you will be required to use the “Link To My Work” button to locate the correct Work record in CSI’s database for matching.  If you are unable to locate the Work in our database, please contact CSI in order to register the details of the work in question.

**For “Other” User Types Only: If you have registered with a user type of “Other”, meaning that you act on behalf of multiple accounts that are not directly related (as a law firm, management company, etc), then your ability to view and submit claims is restricted to the client account which you have selected on your home page.  In order to change the selected account so that you are able to view share information that is specific to that publisher/writer, and to then submit claims on their behalf, you can do this by using the radio buttons next to the accounts on your home page and pressing the “Save” button after making your selection.

Comprendre les résultats de recherche

IMPORTANT – Présentement, le site de réclamations contient des informations relatives aux redevances impayées pour les produits mis en marché au Canada après 2012 et dont les redevances ont été versées dans le Fonds de licence par Sony Music Entertainment Canada, Universal Music Canada, et Warner Music Canada pour les périodes de 3Q2013 à 2Q2015.

Lorsque la maison de disques ou CSI a identifié plusieurs éléments en suspens ou non réclamés qui sont associés à la même œuvre musicale, les informations relatives à ces éléments sont alors regroupées dans un enregistrement désigné Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens. Chaque enregistrement d’un Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens correspond à un numéro d’œuvre CSI unique, et dans les cas où CSI a identifié l’œuvre musicale, les détails de l’œuvre jumelée seront inclus. L’information principale retournée pour chaque Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens comprend : le Titre, l’Auteur(s) et/ou le(s) Compositeurs(s), le Numéro de répartition et la Valeur de la piste avec les détails spécifiques à la piste et au produit.

Boîte de sélectionelect Box ( Checkbox )– Vous permet de sélectionner le(s) Regroupement(s) d’utilisation en suspens pour lequel vous souhaitez soumettre une réclamation. Cette case doit être sélectionnée pour effectuer une réclamation sur un élément. Si vous indiquez que plusieurs Regroupements d’utilisation en suspens correspondent à une même œuvre musicale, vous pouvez effectuer des réclamations pour tous les Regroupements d’utilisation en suspens pertinents en une seule transaction en activant plusieurs cases à cocher. Veuillez noter que les Regroupements d’utilisation doivent tous être jumelés à la même œuvre musicale pour que vos réclamations soient enregistrés correctement.

Lien vers mon oeuvre ( work-matched )– indique que le Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens a été jumelé à une œuvre CSI. Si vous désirez soumettre une réclamation, le groupe en suspens doit d’abord être lié à une oeuvre dans la base de donnée de CSI. Ceci peut être fait en cliquant sur le bouton “lien vers mon oeuvre” qui vous amènera à une page de rechercher pour identifier votre oeuvre dans la base de donnée de CSI. Le bouton de réclamation deviendra actif une fois l’oeuvre liée.

L’icône déjà réclamé ( work-claimed ) – indique que vous, ou quelqu’un d’autre inscrit pour soumettre des réclamations au nom de votre organisation, avez déjà fait une réclamation pour ce Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens.

Valeur de la piste – Chaque élément est classé en tant que valeur moyenne, moyenne ou haute. Veuillez consulter “Quel est le rôle de cette list?” dans la section FAQ pour savoir comme ces valeurs sont calculées.

Détails complets de l’œuvre  (>>) –Existe lorsque le Regroupement d’utilisation a été jumelé à une œuvre musicale. Veuillez prendre en note que certains champs de données peuvent être libres. En affichant les détails, vous pourrez visualiser les informations suivantes:

  • Pourcentage total des parts inconnues pour l’œuvre.
  • Total de(s) part(s) de l’œuvre que vous avez enregistrées auprès de CSI (via la CMRRA ou la SODRAC).
  • Total de(s) part(s) de l’œuvre contrôlées par d’autres ayants droit.
  • Œuvre en conflit − Si l’œuvre a été identifiée comme faisant l’objet d’une réclamation en conflit, alors ce champ indiquera « Oui ». Selon les termes du Règlement du recours collectif, pour tous les titres mis en marché à partir de janvier 2013, les maisons de disques devront verser les redevances dans le Fonds fiduciaire des licences CSI pour toutes les œuvres identifiées comme étant en conflit. CSI examinera les détails relatifs aux paiements et, le cas échéant, débloquera toute portion des redevances liées aux parts de l’œuvre qui ne font pas l’objet de conflit. CSI retiendra en suspens les redevances liées aux parts en conflit jusqu’à ce que le conflit soit réglé. Si vous n’êtes pas au courant que l’œuvre musicale en question est en conflit, veuillez contacter l’Agence ou la Société vous représentant (la CMRRA ou la SODRAC), ou si vous n’êtes pas affilié avec ces organisations, communiquez directement avec CSI pour connaître les détails que nous avons au dossier au sujet de l’information en conflit.
  • Détails de licences émises pour vos parts (disponibles dans une fenêtre distincte lorsqu’activée) − Les licences auront un des statuts suivants:
    • Émise − La licence a été émise, mais n’a pas encore été acceptée par la maison de disquesConfirmée − La maison de disques a confirmé la réception et l’acceptation de la licence.
    • Confirmée − La maison de disques a confirmé la réception et l’acceptation de la licence.
    • Rejetée − La maison de disques a rejeté la licence et la raison du rejet apparaît dans le champ « Historique de statut ».
  • Détails du paiement de redevances identifiant les trimestres où le paiement relatif à l’élément en question vous a déjà été fait. Cela vous aidera à déterminer si vous avez déjà reçu le bon paiement correspondant à votre part de l’œuvre figurant sur le produit en question.

Détails complets de la piste  (>>) – Fournit des détails supplémentaires sur la piste et le produit. Veuillez prendre en note que certains champs de données peuvent être libres. Deux scénarios peuvent causer cela:

  1. Lors du traitement des fichiers de redevances de la maison de disque, CSI se fie à certains champs obligatoires pour lier les données des redevances aux détails que la maison de disques a fournie lors de la demande de licence. Ces informations sont ensuite disponible sur le site de réclamation. Au début de la période de rapport des redevances par le biais du fonds fiduciaire, certaines données des maisons de disque étaient incorrecte ou manquantes, particulièrement durant les périodes de 3Q2013 et 4Q2014. Ainsi, seulement l’information provenant des rapports de redevances est disponible et dans la plupart des cas il s’agit d’un numéro d’identification tel que le numéro de catalogue ou le UPC.
  2. Lorsqu’une maison de disque à inclus une balance dans leur rapport de redevances, il n’y a pas de détail. Ceci est du au fait que la balance indiquée est soumise dans le fichier de redevance avec l’oeuvre mais elle n’est pas associée à un lancement particulier ou à un enregistrement. CSI traitera ses items avec les autres items inclus dans le même groupe en suspens.

Les informations importantes suivantes sont affichées dans le tableau en bas de cette section :

  • Nom de l’éditeur indique le nom du compte pour lequel les redevances ont été ajustées, suivi entre parenthèses par le nom du compte de régularisation fourni par la maison de disques à CSI. Le Nom de l’éditeur reflète généralement un compte en suspens, sauf dans les cas où CSI a effectué une recherche sur l’élément en question et identifié l’éditeur à qui le montant est payable.
  • Pourcentage de part tel que précisé par la maison de disques ou, dans le cas de montants ajustés, le pourcentage ajusté qui demeure non réclamé.
  • En conflit (selon la Maison de disques) indique si la maison de disque a identifié l’enregistrement en question comme étant associé à une œuvre en conflit.
  • Taux de redevance applicable indique le taux auquel le paiement a été fait, ajusté en fonction du pourcentage de la part de propriété.

Bouton de réclamation (Reclamation)– Pour effectuer une réclamation en utilisant le bouton « Réclamation » au bas de l’écran, le Regroupement d’utilisation en suspens doit être jumelé à une œuvre CSI. Si nous n’avons pas pu jumeler l’enregistrement en question, vous devrez alors utiliser le bouton « Lien vers mon œuvre » pour retracer le bon numéro d’œuvre dans la base de données CSI afin d’effectuer le jumelage. Si vous ne pouvez retracer l’œuvre dans notre base de données, veuillez communiquer avec CSI afin d’enregistrer les détails de l’œuvre en question.

*Si vous vous êtes inscrit en temps qu’un usager de type “autre”, c’est-à-dire que vous agissez au nom de plusieurs comptes qui ne sont pas directement liés (tels qu’un cabinet d’avocats, une compagnie de gestion, etc.), vos permissions pour voir et soumettre des réclamations sont restreintes aux comptes de clients que vous avez choisi sur la première page. Pour changer les comptes choisis afin de pouvoir voir l’information partagée d’un éditeur ou auteur en particulier, et pour pouvoir soumettre en son nom, vous pouvez utiliser les boutons circulaires qui se trouvent à côté de ses comptes sur la première page et sélectionner le bouton de sauvegarde après avoir fait votre sélection.