CMRRA-SODRAC Inc. (“CSI” or “we”) respects your privacy and has instituted the policies and practices described below to ensure that your personal information is handled in a responsible manner. This online privacy policy describes the types of personal information we may collect from you when you visit our website, which includes the Claims Website, how we use this information, and when we share it with third parties or our affiliated companies. The information on this website is subject to change from time to time. Any changes to the privacy policy will be reflected on this page so that you can be aware of what information we collect and how we are using and/or disclosing it.

By submitting your personal information to CSI through this website, you consent to the collection, use and disclosure of your personal information as set out in this privacy policy and you agree that such consent has been made on an informed, manifest, free and enlightened basis.

Your Privacy Rights

In Canada, organizations engaged in the collection of personal information in the course of commercial activities must comply with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (the “Act”).

CSI is responsible for the personal information  it collects, uses, maintains and discloses.  To ensure this accountability, CSI has developed this policy, and trained our staff about our policies and practices.

What is “Personal Information?”

Personal information is any information that identifies you, or by which your identity could be deduced. It does not include your name, business address, business title, professional designation(s) or business telephone number.

Automatic information is information that we collect automatically whenever you interact with this website such as your IP address, the type of computer you use, and the web browser you use. An IP address is a number assigned to your computer when you connect to the Internet. Each time you visit this site, our web server may automatically recognize and collect this information. Automatic information also includes “cookies” and “web beacons”. A “cookie” is a small amount of data that is sent to your browser from a web server and stored on your computer’s hard drive. Among other things, cookies provide a means for us to keep track of your online patterns and preferences. By understanding which areas of the site you visit, cookies allow us to present information, products and services that are of personal interest. A cookie will not allow us to learn any personal information (such as your birth date and address) that you have not otherwise disclosed. Most browsers are initially set up to accept cookies. You can change your browser so that it will not automatically accept cookies. However, if you do so, it is possible that some portions of the site may not function as intended. “Web beacons”, also known as clear GIFs or single-pixel GIFs, are small image files that we may place on web pages and within web-based email newsletters that we send. Working in conjunction with cookies, web beacons allow us to accurately count the number of unique users who have visited a specific page and the number of times those pages are displayed.

Location of Personal Information

All records of your personal information will be kept in Canada.

Collection and Use of Your Information

We will use your personal information to communicate with you and in connection with the development and maintenance of accurate records of the ownership and administration of copyright in musical works. Where applicable, we may also use it to verify and/or process claims submitted by users for unpaid royalties for the use of musical works in relation to the Pending List Class Action and pursuant to the Order (each as defined below).

Disclosure of your Personal Information

CSI may disclose your personal information as follows:

  • when disclosure is required by law – for example, in connection with a proceeding before the Copyright Board of Canada or if a court issues a subpoena;
  • to its affiliates, including Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency Ltd. (“CMRRA”), Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers (SODRAC) Inc. and SODRAC 2003 Inc. (together, “SODRAC”), their respective affiliates;
  • to legal, financial and other professional advisors of CSI, CMRRA and SODRAC;
  • prospective parties, ultimate parties and their respective legal, financial and other professional advisors, in connection with any transaction or prospective transaction consisting of the purchase, sale lease, merger or amalgamation or any other type of acquisition or disposal of, or the taking of a security interest in respect of, CSI, CMRRA, SODRAC, or a portion thereof, or any strategic alliance or joint venture involving any of CSI, CMRRA or SODRAC or their respective affiliates; and
  • in any other circumstances where you have consented to the disclosure.

Part of this website is used for the submission of claims by rightsholders for compensation pursuant to the Order of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (the “Court”) dated May 30, 2011 in relation to Northey v. Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. et al. (the “Pending List Class Action”), certifying the class action for settlement purposes and approving the settlement of the action (the “Order”). In addition to the permitted disclosure already set out above, CSI may disclose the personal information it collects through this process of claims submission to class counsel, to the Court, or to Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc. (formerly Sony BMG Music (Canada) Inc.), EMI Group Canada Inc., Universal Music Canada Inc. or Warner Music Canada Co.

CSI will not disclose your personal information to any third party to enable them to market their products and services.

Use of Third Party Service Providers

If we engage third party agents, mandataries or service providers, including but not limited to consultants and data processors (collectively, “Service Providers”), to provide services to us (including, without limitation, hosting services, computer back-up services and archival file storage), we will transfer personal information to these Service Providers as necessary for them to process this information for us. All Service Providers handling personal information on behalf of CSI will be required to maintain the confidentiality of the information, comply with this privacy policy and follow reasonable security precautions in relation to the personal information that is sent to them for processing;

Updating Your Information

Since we use your personal information to provide services to you, it is important that the information be accurate and up-to-date. If any of your information changes or if you believe it is inaccurate, please inform us so that we can make any necessary changes.


CSI takes all reasonable precautions to ensure that your personal information is kept safe from loss, unauthorized access, modification or disclosure.  Among the steps taken to protect your information are:

  • premises security;
  • restricted file access to personal information;
  • deploying technological safeguards such as security software and firewalls to prevent hacking or unauthorized computer access; and
  • internal password and security measures.

Access to Your Personal Information

You may ask for access to any personal information we hold about you. Summary information is available on request.  More detailed requests which require archive or other retrieval costs may be subject to our normal professional and disbursement fees.

Denying Access to Your Personal Information

Your rights to access your personal information are not absolute. CSI may deny access when denial of access is required or authorized by law, including the following situations:

  • information is protected by solicitor/client privilege;
  • providing access would reveal confidential commercial information;
  • granting access could threaten the life or security of another individual;
  • the information was generated in the course of a formal dispute resolution process; or
  • information was collected without the consent of the individual and collection with the knowledge of consent of the individual would have compromised the availability or the accuracy of the information and the collection was reasonable for purposes related to investigating a breach of an agreement or a contravention of the laws of Canada or a province.

If we deny your request for access to, or refuse a request to correct information, we shall explain why.

Communicating with Us

You should be aware that email is not a 100% secure medium, and you should be aware of this when contacting us to send personal or confidential information.

Request for Access

If you have any questions, or wish to access your personal information, please write to our Privacy Officer at


Our website contains links to other sites, which are not governed by this privacy policy.

On our website, like most other commercial websites, we may monitor traffic patterns, site usage and related site information in order to optimize our web service.  In some instances, we may employ third-party software or services (e.g., Google Analytics) to do so. We may provide aggregated information to third parties, but these statistics do not include any identifiable personal information.

Politique de confidentialité

POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS DU SITE DE CSI

CMRRA-SODRAC Inc. (« CSI » ou « nous ») respecte votre vie privée et a mis en place les politiques et pratiques décrites ci-dessous pour s’assurer que vos renseignements personnels sont traités de manière responsable. Notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels en ligne décrit les types de renseignements personnels que nous recueillons lorsque vous visitez notre site web, ainsi que le Site de réclamations, comment nous les utilisons et quand nous les partageons avec des tiers ou avec nos sociétés affiliées. Les renseignements contenus au site peuvent être modifiés de temps à autre. Les modifications apportées à notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels apparaîtront sur cette page afin que vous puissiez savoir quels renseignements nous recueillons et quelles sont leurs conditions d’utilisation et de divulgation.

En divulguant vos renseignements personnels à CSI par le biais de ce site web, vous consentez à ce qu’ils soient recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués de la manière précisée à cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels et vous confirmez que votre consentement est informé, manifeste, libre et éclairé.

Vos droits de protection de la vie privée

Au Canada, les organisations qui recueillent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités commerciales doivent respecter la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (la « Loi »).

CSI est responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels qu’elle recueille, utilise, conserve ou communique. Pour respecter cette obligation, CSI a élaboré cette politique et formé son personnel afin que ses politiques et pratiques soient appliquées.

Que sont des « renseignements personnels? »

Il s’agit de tous les renseignements qui vous identifient ou qui permettent de deviner votre identité. Ils ne comprennent ni votre nom, ni l’adresse ou le numéro de téléphone de votre lieu de travail, ni le titre de votre poste, ni vos titres professionnels.

Les renseignements automatisés sont ceux que nous recueillons automatiquement chaque fois que vous interagissez avec ce site web, comme votre adresse IP, le genre d’ordinateur que vous utilisez et votre navigateur web. Une adresse IP est un numéro attribué à votre ordinateur lorsque vous vous connectez à l’internet. Chaque fois que vous visitez notre site, notre serveur web reconnait ce renseignement et le recueille automatiquement. Les renseignements automatisés comprennent également les « témoins » et les « pixels invisibles ». Un « témoin » représente certaines données transmises à votre navigateur par un serveur web et entreposées dans le disque dur de votre ordinateur. Les témoins permettent entre autres de faire le suivi de vos comportements et préférences en ligne. En comprenant quelles parties d’un site vous intéressent, les témoins permettent de vous présenter des renseignements, des produits et des services adaptés. Un témoin ne permet pas d’obtenir les renseignements personnels  que vous n’avez pas choisi de divulguer (comme votre date de naissance ou votre adresse personnelle). La plupart des navigateurs sont initialement conçus de façon à accepter les témoins. Vous pouvez changer les attributs de votre navigateur pour que cette acceptation ne soit plus automatique. Si vous le faites, cependant, il est possible que certaines parties du site ne fonctionnent pas comme elles le devraient. Les « pixels invisibles », également appelés GIF invisibles ou pixels-espions, sont de petits dossiers d’images placés à l’occasion sur des pages web et dans des bulletins d’information électroniques sur le web. L’utilisation de témoins et de pixels invisibles nous permet de compter de façon précise le nombre d’utilisateurs uniques qui visitent une page donnée et le nombre de fois où cette page est affichée à l’écran.

Emplacement des renseignements personnels

Tous les registres de vos renseignements personnels sont conservés au Canada.

Collecte et utilisation de vos renseignements

Nous utilisons vos renseignements personnels afin de communiquer avec vous, ainsi que dans le cadre de la création et de la conservation de registres exacts concernant la propriété et la gestion des droits d’auteur des œuvres musicales. Le cas échéant, nous les utilisons pour vérifier et/ou pour traiter des réclamations déposées par des utilisateurs relativement à des redevances impayées d’œuvres musicales dans le cadre du recours collectif relatif aux droits en suspens et conformément à l’ordonnance (termes définis ci-dessous).

Divulgation de vos renseignements personnels

CSI peut divulguer vos renseignements personnels dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • Lorsque la loi l’exige – comme dans le cadre de procédures intentées à la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada ou en réponse à un subpoena émis par un tribunal;
  • À ses sociétés affiliées, dont la CMRRA, la SODRAC et leurs sociétés affiliées respectives;
  • Aux conseillers juridiques ou financiers et autres conseillers professionnels de CSI, de la CMRRA ou de la SODRAC;
  • Aux tiers éventuels ou ultimes (y compris à leurs conseillers juridiques ou financiers et à leurs autres conseillers professionnels) qui participent à une transaction ou à une transaction éventuelle d’achat, de vente, de location ou de fusion, à un autre type d’acquisition ou de disposition ou à l’établissement d’une sûreté se rapportant en tout ou en partie à CSI, à la CMRRA, à la SODRAC ou à une alliance stratégique ou coentreprise dont font partie CSI, la CMRRA, la SODRAC ou l’une de leurs sociétés affiliées respectives;
  • Dans toutes les autres circonstances où vous consentez à la divulgation.

Une partie de ce site sert à la soumission de réclamations en indemnisation des titulaires de droits conformément à l’Ordonnance rendue par la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario (la « Cour ») en date du 30 mai 2011 dans le dossier Northey c. Sony Musique Canada inc.. et al. (le « Recours collectif relatif aux droits en suspens »), homologuant le recours collectif à des fins de règlement et approuvant l’entente à l’amiable relative aux procédures (l’« Ordonnance »). Outre les cas de divulgation autorisée déjà mentionnés, CSI peut divulguer les renseignements personnels qu’elle recueille dans le cadre de ce processus de soumission de réclamations aux avocats du groupe, à la cour ou à Sony Musique Canada inc. [anciennement Sony BMG Musique (Canada) inc.], EMI Group Canada inc., Musique Universal Canada inc. ou Warner Musique du Canada.

CSI ne divulgue pas de renseignements personnels à des tiers pour leur permettre de mettre en marché des produits ou des services.

Utilisation de fournisseurs de services

Lorsque nous retenons les services d’agents, de mandataires ou de fournisseurs de services, y compris, notamment, de consultants ou de préposés au traitement de données (collectivement, les « Fournisseurs de services »), pour obtenir des services tels que, notamment, des services d’hébergement, de sauvegarde informatique ou d’archivage, nous leur transmettons des renseignements personnels selon nos besoins afin qu’ils les traitent pour le compte de CSI. Tous ces Fournisseurs de services doivent en protéger le caractère confidentiel, prendre les précautions nécessaires en matière de sécurité afin d’en assurer la protection et respecter cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels.

Mise à jour de vos renseignements

Il est important que vos renseignements personnels soient exacts et à jour, car nous les utilisons pour vous fournir des services. En cas de changement ou si vous croyez que des renseignements sont inexacts, veuillez communiquer avec nous pour que nous puissions effectuer les modifications qui s’imposent.

Sécurité des renseignements

CSI prend toutes les précautions nécessaires pour s’assurer que vos renseignements personnels sont à l’abri des pertes ou des modifications, divulgations ou accès non autorisés. Voici certaines des mesures en place pour protéger vos renseignements :

  • Sécurité physique des lieux;
  • Accès restreint aux dossiers contenant des renseignements personnels;
  • Dispositifs de protection technologique comme logiciels de protection ou coupe-feu pour empêcher le piratage informatique ou l’accès non autorisé à nos systèmes informatiques;
  • Mots de passe et mesures de sécurité internes.

Accès aux renseignements personnels

Vous pouvez demander l’accès aux renseignements personnels que nous détenons à votre sujet. Des renseignements sommaires sont ainsi fournis sur demande. Toute demande plus détaillée requérant des recherches en archives ou nécessitant un repérage plus poussé peut être assujettie au paiement des honoraires professionnels et frais de recherche encourus.

Refus d’accès à des renseignements personnels

Vos droits d’accès ne sont pas absolus. CSI peut vous refuser d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels lorsque la loi l’exige ou l’autorise, y compris dans les cas suivants :

  • Lorsque ces renseignements sont protégés par secret professionnel;
  • Lorsque des renseignements confidentiels de nature commerciale seraient divulgués si l’accès vous est accordé;
  • Lorsque la vie ou la sécurité d’une autre personne physique pourrait être mise en danger si l’accès vous est accordé;
  • Lorsque les renseignements ont été générés dans le cadre d’un processus formel de résolution de conflit;
  • Lorsque les renseignements ont été recueillis sans le consentement de la personne concernée, car s’ils l’avaient été à la connaissance ou avec le consentement de cette personne, cela aurait compromis leur disponibilité ou leur exactitude et que la collecte était raisonnablement requise dans le cadre d’une enquête portant sur la violation d’un contrat ou d’une loi du Canada ou d’une province.

Si nous refusons de donner suite à votre demande d’accès ou de corriger des renseignements personnels vous concernant, ce refus sera motivé.

Méthodes de communication

Vous savez ou devriez savoir que le courriel n’est pas un moyen de communication sécuritaire à 100 % et vous savez ou devriez en tenir compte lorsque vous nous transmettez des renseignements personnels ou autrement confidentiels.

Demandes d’accès

Pour toute question, ou pour obtenir l’accès à vos renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec notre responsable de la protection de la vie privée à protectionrenseignements@cmrrasodrac.ca.

Site web

Notre site web contient des hyperliens à d’autres sites, qui ne sont pas régis par cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels.

Dans notre site, comme dans la plupart des sites web commerciaux, il est possible qu’un suivi des habitudes de transmission, de la fréquentation du site ou d’autres renseignements relatifs au site soit effectué afin d’optimiser les services en ligne. Dans certains cas, des logiciels spécialisés appartenant à des tiers ou des services extérieurs (p. ex., Google Analytics) peuvent être utilisés à cette fin. Des renseignements cumulatifs peuvent également être fournis à des tiers, mais ces statistiques ne comprennent pas de renseignements personnels identifiables.