Distribution of Settlement Funds for Group I, II and III Products

The distribution of settlement funds will continue to be effected in various stages in the coming years.  Below is a general overview of the distribution process; we will continue to provide updates as additional details become available. New information regarding each distribution will also be posted in the Announcements and Notices section of this website.

Details regarding the settlement distribution are disclosed in the Key Terms of Settlement document.

APPLICABILITY:

The settlement distribution applies to products released in physical audio and video formats in Canada by the following four Canadian record companies and their Parent, Subsidiary and Affiliated Companies :

  • Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc.
  • EMI Group Canada Inc.*
  • Universal Music Canada Inc.
  • Warner Music Canada Co.

*For Group III Products released by EMI, Universal is responsible for reporting and payment of pending royalties.

PRODUCT CATEGORIZATION:

The settlement distribution will be effected based on three product groups:

  • Group I Products: Products released prior to and including June 30, 2007
  • Group II Products: Products released between July 1, 2007 and December 31, 2009, inclusive
  • Group III Products: Products released between January 1, 2010 and December 31, 2012, inclusive

PAYMENT INTO SETTLEMENT TRUST:

A first payment of royalties into the Settlement Trust was made by each record company as well as by CMRRA and SODRAC on June 30, 2011. The total amount of this first payment, inclusive of legal and administrative fees, was approximately $46.5 million.

The sums paid by the record companies relate to pending royalties for Group I and II Products only.  Further payments of pending royalties for the ongoing sales of Group I and II Products will be made to the Settlement Trust on a quarterly basis.

  • The sums paid by CMRRA and SODRAC represented royalties received but undistributed as of December 31, 2009.
  • An agreement on the payment of royalties for Group III Products has not yet been finalized between the parties. More information will be provided as soon as it is made available to CSI.

DISTRIBUTION OF THE SETTLEMENT FUNDS:

The settlement funds will be distributed by CSI to class members using one of two methodologies, depending on the value of the pending list item:  1) via a market share allocation and 2) via a claims process.

1) Market Share Allocation:  Pending list items that have a value of $1,000.00 or less, for each of Group I and II Products, will be distributed on a market share basis. That is, the total sum of royalties available for these items will be allocated to class members based on their respective share of the royalty payments made by each of the four Canadian major record companies to those rightholders in the last several years.

  • The market share allocation to class members for Group I Products will be based on royalty payments made to rightsholders by the four major record companies between January 1, 2003 and December 31, 2009.
  • The market share allocation to class members for Group II Products will be based on royalty payments made to rightsholders by the four major record companies between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2010.
  • The market share allocation to class members for Group III Products will be based on royalty payments made to rightsholders by the four major record companies between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2013.

The calculation of the market share allocation will be performed at a rightsholder (catalogue) level. CSI will allocate the settlement fund per label for each individual catalogue so that the current administrator of these catalogues can in turn perform its own allocation of the settlement for each one. Song level information will not be available as part of the market share distribution conducted by CSI and CMRRA. SODRAC, however, will undertake its distribution on a “work by work” basis.

No active steps need to be taken by class members to claim their market share of the settlement fund for items with a value of $1,000.00 or less. CSI will undertake the calculation of the market share allocation under supervision by Class Counsel based on the payment information provided by the four record companies under the settlement.

In accordance with the Key Terms of Settlement between the parties, where a rightsholder is eligible to receive less than $100.00 of the market share allocation, that amount will be redistributed on a pro-rata basis to rightsholders eligible to receive an amount greater than $100.

Once each rightsholder’s share has been determined, CSI will distribute the funds as follows:

  • CSI will pay SODRAC the total share of the funds allocated to class members that are members of SODRAC;
  • CSI will pay CMRRA the total share of the funds allocated to class members that are principals of CMRRA;
  • CSI will pay all other class members directly;
  • CMRRA and SODRAC will distribute the funds to their respective members and principals in accordance with their respective methodologies.

For additional information regarding the market share distribution, please refer to Section 1.04 of the Key Terms of Settlement.

2) Claims Process:  Pending list items that have a value of greater than $1,000.00 will be published on CSI’s website where class members will be able, for a limited time, to review and search the lists for their works and make claims where appropriate.

GROUP I, II and III CLAIMS PERIODS:

GROUPS I AND II Products – The Claims Period for these Products is now closed.

Claims Period 1:  Medium-Value Items with an aggregate value greater than $1,000.00 but smaller than $2,500.00 will be published on this site for a period of six months. The deadline for claims submissions for Medium-Value Items was August 2, 2012.

Claims Period 2: High-Value Items with an aggregate value equal to or greater than $2,500.00 will be published on this site for a period of twelve months. The deadline for claims submissions for High-Value Items was February 1, 2013.

Upon conclusion of each Claims Period, any unclaimed portion of the settlement associated with Medium and High-Value Items will be distributed to class members on a market share basis, as explained above.

GROUP III Products – UPDATE

An agreement on the payment of royalties for Group III Products has not yet been finalized between the parties. CSI and Class Counsel are working with the labels to reach an agreement on the applicable payment as quickly as possible.  We will post an update here once such information is available.  Once specific dates have been established for the claims periods related to Group III Products, we will post those here as well.

Répartition des sommes faisant l’objet des règlements

La répartition des sommes faisant l’objet des règlements va continuer d’être effectuée en plusieurs étapes au cours des prochaines années. Voici un aperçu général du processus de répartition. Nous continuerons de mettre ces renseignements à jour à mesure que nous pourrons vous communiquer plus de détails. Les nouveautés relatives à chaque répartition seront également affichées dans la section Annonces et avis de notre site web.

Des précisions relatives à la répartition des montants provenant du règlement sont contenues au document portant sur les principales modalités du règlement et intitulé Key Terms of Settlement [disponible en anglais seulement].

APPLICABILITÉ:

La répartition des montants provenant du règlement touche les produits publiés en formats audio ou audiovisuel au Canada par les quatre compagnies de disques canadiennes suivantes et leurs sociétés mères, leurs filiales et leurs sociétés affiliées :

  • Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc.
  • EMI Group Canada Inc.*
  • Universal Music Canada Inc.
  • Warner Music Canada Co.

*Pour les Produits du groupe III mis en marché par EMI, Universal a la responsabilité d’effectuer les déclarations et d’acquitter les redevances pour les éléments en suspens.

CATÉGORISATION DES PRODUITS :

La répartition des montants provenant du règlement sera effectuée en fonction de trois groupes de produits suivants :

  • Produits du groupe I : Les produits publiés le ou avant le 30 juin 2007
  • Produits du groupe II : Les produits publiés entre le 1er juillet 2007 et le 31 décembre 2009, inclusivement
  • Produits du groupe III : Les produits publiés entre le 1er janvier 2010 et le 31 décembre 2012, inclusivement

VERSEMENTS AU COMPTE EN FIDÉICOMMIS :

Un premier versement de redevances au compte en fidéicommis a été fait par chaque compagnie de disque et par la CMRRA et la SODRAC le 30 juin 2011. Le montant total ainsi versé, qui comprend les honoraires juridiques et les frais administratifs applicables, est d’approximativement 46, 5 millions de dollars.

  • Les montants versés par les compagnies de disques visent les redevances en suspens relatives aux produits des groupes I et II seulement. Des redevances en suspens supplémentaires relatives aux produits des groupes I et II seront versées au compte en fidéicommis sur une base trimestrielle pour refléter les ventes en cours des enregistrements visés.
  •  Les montants versés par la CMRRA et par la SODRAC représentent les redevances reçues, mais non réparties, en date du 31 décembre 2009.
  • Un accord sur le paiement de redevances pour les Produits du groupe III n’a pas encore été finalisé entre les parties. Plus de renseignements seront fournis dès qu’ils seront communiqués à CSI.

RÉPARTITION DES SOMMES EN FIDÉICOMMIS :

Les sommes faisant l’objet des règlements seront réparties parmi les membres du groupe selon deux méthodologies:  1) la répartition selon la valeur au marché  et 2) le processus de réclamation en fonction de la valeur du droit en suspens.

1)  Répartition selon la valeur au marché:  Les droits unitaires en suspens dont la valeur est de 1 000 $ ou moins seront répartis en fonction de leur valeur au marché. Ainsi, la somme totale de redevances applicables à ces droits sera répartie parmi les membres du groupe en fonction des parts respectives des paiements effectués par chacune des compagnies de disques canadiennes à ces titulaires de droits au cours des dernières années.

  • Les parts de marché pour les produits du groupe I seront calculées selon les paiements faits par les quatre maisons de disques principales aux ayants droit entre le 1er janvier 2003 et le 31 décembre 2009.
  • Les parts de marché pour les produits du groupe II seront calculées selon les paiements faits par les quatre maisons de disques principales aux ayants droit entre le 1er janvier 2005 et le 31 décembre 2010.
  • Les parts de marché pour les produits du groupe III seront calculées selon les paiements faits par les quatre maisons de disques principales aux ayants droit entre le 1er janvier 2008 et le 31 décembre 2013.

Les calculs relatifs à la répartition selon la valeur au marché seront effectués au niveau du titulaire du droit (catalogue). CSI répartira les sommes en fidéicommis par maison de disques et par catalogue individuel, afin que les gestionnaires actuels de ces catalogues puissent à leur tour répartir les sommes du règlement parmi leurs ayants droit. Des renseignements relatifs aux œuvres ne seront pas disponibles aux fins de la répartition des parts du marché effectuées par CSI et la CMRRA. La SODRAC procèdera a une répartition œuvre par œuvre.

Aucune démarche ne doit être entreprise par les membres du groupe pour réclamer leurs parts de marché à même le fonds en fidéicommis pour les droits évalués à 1 000 $ ou moins. CSI effectuera les calculs requis pour la répartition selon la valeur au marché sous la supervision des avocats du groupe en fonction des renseignements relatifs aux versements fournis par les quatre compagnies de disques dans le cadre du règlement.

Conformément aux provisions du document intitulé Key Terms of Settlement[disponible en anglais seulement], là ou un ayant droit est éligible à recevoir une part de marché inférieure à 100,00$, ce montant sera remis dans le fond et sera redistribué au prorata aux ayants droits éligibles à recevoir un montant supérieur à 100,00$.

Lorsque la part de chaque titulaire de droits aura été établie, CSI distribuera les fonds de la façon suivante :

  • CSI versera à la SODRAC la totalité des fonds répartis aux membres du groupe également membres de la SODRAC;
  • CSI versera à la CMRRA la totalité des fonds répartis aux membres du groupe également membres de la CMRRA;
  • CSI paiera les autres membres du groupe directement;
  • CMRRA et SODRAC répartiront les fonds à leurs membres respectifs selon leur propre méthodologie.

Pour de plus de renseignements concernant la répartition des sommes en fidéicommis, veuillez consulter l’article 1.04 du document intitulé Key Terms of Settlement [disponible en anglais seulement].

2)  Processus de réclamation:  Les droits unitaires de la liste de droits en suspens qui ont une valeur de plus de 1 000 $ seront publiés sur le site web de CSI. Les membres du groupe visé seront en mesure d’examiner cette liste pour y repérer leurs œuvres et faire des réclamations, le cas échéant.

PÉRIODES DE RÉCLAMATION DES PRODUITS DES GROUPES I, II ET III

Produits des groupes I et II – La période de réclamation pour ces produits est maintenant close.

Période de réclamation 1: Les Éléments de valeur moyenne dont la valeur globale quantifiable est plus élevée que 1 000 $ mais plus petite que 2 500 $ seront publiés sur ce site pour une période de six mois.  La date limite pour soumettre une réclamation pour les Éléments de valeur moyenne était le 2 août 2012.

Période de réclamation 2 : Les Éléments de valeur haute dont la valeur globale quantifiable est plus élevée que 2 500 $ seront publiés sur ce site pour une période d’un an.  La date limite pour soumettre une réclamation pour les Éléments de valeur moyenne était le 1er février 2013.

À l’échéance de chaque Période de réclamation, les sommes faisant l’objet des règlements pour les Éléments de valeur moyenne et haute seront réparties entre les membres du groupe en fonction de leurs parts du marché, de la façon détaillée ici.

Produits du groupe III – MISE À JOUR

Un accord portant sur le paiement de redevances pour les Produits du groupe III n’a pas encore été finalisé entre les parties. CSI et les avocats du groupe travaillent avec les compagnies de disques afin de parvenir le plus rapidement possible à une entente sur le paiement applicable. Nous publierons une mise à jour ici une fois que cette information sera disponible. De la même manière, une fois que des dates précises auront été établies pour les périodes de réclamation relatives aux Produits du groupe III, nous afficherons aussi ces informations ici.